Homemade Baby Food

I was so intimidated by the idea of making my own baby food. I’m not really sure why. I think it’s because of all the books written on the subject and the special baby food makers they sell in stores. It seemed like homemade baby food demanded more skill than simple cooking basics.

It doesn’t.

Just cook the food and mush it up.

It’s really that easy.

Honestly I’m kind of disappointed it’s not harder to do. I thought I’d be in the elusive DIY mom category and go around sharing my latest apricot plum puree, split pea avocado mush or sweet potato carrot mash recipe.

Even talking about making my own baby food seems silly knowing the steps are simply  — 1. cook food 2. mush it up 3. serve to baby

Heck, you might as well buy it in a jar for 50 cents a pop.

I’m still going to make it even if it is easy, because I do think it’s cheaper in the end, but to think I assumed it would be difficult just makes me laugh now.

I kind of relate the whole making baby food intimidation to how I thought of motherhood in general. The thought of caring for an infant made me nervous, and to be honest, a bit fearful.

Would I catch on? Would the motherly instinct kick in? Would Evy be stuck with a bumbling, anxious, hot-mess of a mother who couldn’t figure out the technicalities of child rearing? Does a connection with your infant require an intricate recipe of peculiar ingredients that is only understood by an elite few?

It doesn’t.

Just have the baby and give her love.

It’s really that easy.

Yes, sometimes the recipe changes and adaptations are necessary, but the love is simple (and often very mushy).

Leave a Reply

